Shortlist revealed for 20th anniversary Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards, sponsored by Godolphin

 In Press Releases

Shortlisted nominees for each of the six categories at the 2024 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards have been announced!

Organised by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) and sponsored by Godolphin, the prestigious awards provide the opportunity for employees from the racing and breeding industry to be celebrated for their hard work and dedication to the sport of horseracing.

The 20th anniversary of the awards, which will be hosted by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin at Ascot Racecourse on 26 February 2024, attracted a bumper set of top-quality nominations.

The judging panel for the Awards has been hard at work since nominations closed earlier this month whittling over 180 nominations down to a final shortlist of 10 nominees in each category.

All shortlisted nominees will receive a £250 prize to recognise the significant achievement of reaching this stage of the judging process.

The judges will now commence the second stage of the judging process, where they narrow the shortlist down to three finalists in each category, with the winners to be announced at the ceremony at Ascot in February.

There is a total prize money fund of £128,500 up for grabs for the awards, with as much as £30,000 available to the overall Employee of the Year and their yard or stud.

Julie Harrington, Chief Executive of the BHA, said:

Congratulations to everyone who has been shortlisted for an award. It is a fantastic achievement, and all those shortlisted should be very proud to be recognised by their peers, employers and the judges.

“We are delighted with the nominations received this year, both in terms of the number and the high quality. This has made for a very competitive judging process.

“I wish our shortlisted nominees the very best of luck in the next round of judging.”

The BHA and Godolphin would like to thank the Awards media partners, Racing Post and Racing TV, and stakeholders from across British racing for supporting and promoting the launch and nomination period of the 2024 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards.

The shortlists

The shortlisted nominees for each category are all on the BHA website, but special mentions and congratulations to the racing grooms shortlisted for the David Nicholson Newcomer Award and the Rider/Groom Award:

David Nicholson Newcomer

  • Chloe Blaikie (Katie Scott)
  • Daria Bogash (Charlie Longsdon)
  • Tyler Bowden-Falvey (James Ferguson)
  • Fred Daly (Sir Mark Prescott)
  • Bethan Nelson (Warren Greatrex)
  • Bella Nicholls (Jedd O’Keeffe)
  • Abel O’Gorman (Alice Haynes)
  • Henry Pugh (Tim Vaughan)
  • Molly Roberts (Ed Walker)
  • Hollie Wiltshire (Alan King)


  • Chloe Angus (Jedd O’Keeffe)
  • Clive Banwell (Christian Williams)
  • Vicky Boyle-Atkins (Richard Phillips)
  • Chelsea Brooks (Ollie Pears)
  • Lyndsey Bull (Ian Williams)
  • Alice Kettlewell (Karl Burke)
  • Keagan Kirkby (Paul Nicholls)
  • Emily Meek (Jeremy Scott)
  • Madan Singh (Mick Appleby)
  • Lorena Walsh (Lucinda Russell)

Well done to everyone nominated and shortlisted, it is a wonderful achievement to have reached this stage.