Shortlisted finalists announced for 2022 Lycetts Leadership & Lycetts Team Champions Awards

 In Press Releases

The National Trainers Federation (NTF) has announced the shortlists for the 2022 Lycetts Leadership Award and the Lycetts Team Champions Award.

Once again, the standard of entries was extremely high with many training yards demonstrating exceptional management practices and cultivating an environment for staff to shine.

  • Lycetts Team Champions Award

The Lycetts Team Champions Award is designed to celebrate the best teams on racehorse training yards, regardless of the size of the yard and from the staff’s perspective.

The shortlisted teams are from the following training yards (in alphabetical order by last name):

A £4000 prize awaits the winning team. To determine the overall winner, judges will visit each yard, meet representatives from the teams, and get a real understanding of how they work together and support each other.

  • Lycetts Leadership and Excellence Awards

The Lycetts Leadership Award comprises four sections, each of which carries an Excellence Award in its own right. The Excellence Awards are kindly sponsored by Cavalor.

These sections are based on The Winning Approach, a set of industry standards in management and employment practices. The aim is to share best practices and highlight exceptional leadership qualities within racing yards. Achieving accreditation is also a tool for trainers to promote their businesses to owners, staff and sponsors.

Trainers entered just one or multiple Excellence Awards:

  • Inclusive Recruitment & Effective Induction Systems
  • Ensuring a Safe Working Environment
  • Development & Training
  • Reward & Recognition

Cavalor is awarding a prize of £500 to the winner of each section, plus an additional £250 voucher that can be spent at a local retailer to purchase Cavalor products.

Equitare also supports this year’s awards by gifting a 12-month recruitment package to the highest scoring newly licensed trainer.

The winners of the Excellence Awards will be announced before the prize-giving in September.

Four trainers, chosen on the strength of their submissions for the Excellence Awards, have been selected to proceed through to the Leadership Award. Judges will conduct interviews with each trainer to determine the overall winner of the Lycetts Leadership Award. The winner will be announced before the prize giving in September and win £4000.

The shortlisted Trainers going through to the Lycetts Leadership Award (in alphabetical order by last name):

Prize Giving

The official Prize Giving will be held at Sandown Park Racecourse on 14th September 2022, where the winners will be invited to enjoy hospitality and receive their prizes.


A complete list of accredited yards will shortly appear on the NTF and Racing Groom websites. This will include all yards that have maintained their accreditation from the previous year of the award.

Speaking on behalf of the NTF, NTF Recruitment and Training Consultant Shelley Perham said, ‘Thank you to all the trainers and staff that took part this year. The insight gained into these exceptional yards and teams has been inspiring. There are some stand-out establishments, managers and leaders here and we look forward to celebrating them all through these awards.

The commitment to establishing the highest standards in staff management is evidenced by the significant number of yards achieving Gold accreditation this year.

Congratulations to all newly accredited trainers, and good luck to all our shortlisted teams and trainers proceeding to the next stage.’