Winners crowned at the 2020 Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards!

 In Press Releases

The Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards ceremony took place last night at The Underglobe on London’s South Bank in front of a specially invited audience from across the racing industry. The awards celebrate the vital role of stud and stable staff in the racing industry and the care which they provide to the horses they look after.

James Frank of Hascombe and Valiant Stud was named as the 2020 Employee of the Year. James also won the Stud Staff Award, and was presented with the perpetual Godolphin Trophy by special guest presenter Oisin Murphy, alongside Ed Chamberlin at the event hosted by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA).

He takes home a total of £20,000 in prize money with the same amount being shared amongst the staff at Hascombe and Valiant Stud! Congratulations James!

The full list of winners and runners up are as follows with special mentions to Racing Grooms in the Newcomers & Rider/Groom Awards!:

  • Employee of the Year: James Frank – Hascombe and Valiant Stud
  • David Nicholson Newcomer Award: Kevin Skelton – Bryan Smart

    Ed Chamberlin and Oisin Murphy presenting Kevin Skelton with The David Nicholson Newcomer award
    Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards
    Pic: Dan

    Runners up: Charlotte Cotgrave – Mark Johnston, Bradley Harris – Andrew Balding

  • Leadership Award: Mat Nicholls – Kim Bailey
    Runners up: Leanne Kershaw – Jedd O’Keeffe, James Savage – Michael Stoute
  • Rider/Groom Award: Hayley Ashcroft – Tom Dascombe (pictured above)
    Runners up: Shoab Patel – Stuart Williams, Kate McCormack – Paul Nicholls
  • Stud Staff Award: James Frank – Hascombe and Valiant Stud
    Runners up: Patrick Meehan – The National Stud, Keith Warburton – Shade Oak Stud
  • Dedication to Racing Award: Andy Stringer – John Gosden
    Runners up: Seanie Mulcaire – Philip Hobbs, Philip Wright – Harry Dunlop
  • Rory Macdonald Award: Simone Sear – Racing Welfare
    Runners up: Eleanor Boden – Scottish Racing, Rachel (Chicky) Oaksey – Injured Jockeys Fund

Congratulations to everyone shortlisted and to the winners. Your commitment to the industry and the horses is justly deserved.

Nick Rust, Chief Executive of the BHA:

We are grateful to all of the staff who work behind the scenes to ensure that the horses who are bred for and take part in British racing are provided with exceptionally high levels of care.

“These awards are our opportunity to say thank you to all of them, on behalf of the sport and on behalf of our horses, and tonight’s winners and finalists are fine ambassadors for their profession.

Feeling inspired to kick start your career in racing? Head to our info about all the different routes into this exciting career. 

Free Jockey Club Tickets for Racing Grooms